Indian Contestant W8-BEN form

Hi,

I am a contestant from India. I have just won my first contest, and for withdrawing my balance, SquadHelp is asking me to fill out the W8-BEN form. Now, I’m not sure if I need to fill out point 10, which deals with Special rates and conditions, where the beneficiary claims rebate using some Article number from the US-India double taxation avoidance treaty. Do I need to fill this? Should I fill in Article 15 (Independent Personal Services) of the US-India Tax Treaty and claim 0% withholding?

Or is filling in point 9 (which specifies that I’m a resident of India which has a treaty with the US) enough?

If I do not fill out point 10, will any taxes be deducted?

Any contestants from India or other countries who have filled in the W8-Ben form? Any help appreciated.

Thanks,

Nilesh

just print then input the contents as you know, then scan with your signature.

I think this methode applies to all for non US member.

if you still find trouble, you can contact admin via service@squadhelp.com, they will help you immediately.

May it help, congrats for first win btw. :grinning:

Thanks v.much for your suggestion.

Actually I have filled in everything else online on pdfescape.com, but I’m not sure if I have to fill in line 10. I think I’ll wait a day to check if anyone from India has already filled in the form, and if not, then ask SquadHelp admin.

@Dan Can you help him out…

@brandulus, Congratulations on winning your first contest! Unfortunately we can not provide guidance on what information to fill in different sections of the W8-BEN form because each country’s tax regime as well as each creative’s tax situation is unique. You might want to seek input from your local accountant, or you can read the detailed instructions here:

1 Like

@jackieheraty Thanks for the pointer.