2 Newbie Questions

I am new to SH and I’ve looked through previous threads for this answer to no avail.
At the bottom of a contest it shows Trending with three spots and creatives names. What does this mean? Is it top three names the CH likes or top three with highest rankings?
Also, if a CH wants a name only, but after checking you find the name is already trademarked and the web saturated with it…would you still submit it?

@LisaMac, welcome to Squadhelp. Regarding the first question, you might want to refer to this thread:

For Second question, you might want to see this thread:

Hope this helps

1 Like

Thanks @Dan. Still finding my footing. Guess what I meant to ask is…I notice that in a lot of contests, the top trending contestants don’t win the contest. So it is only used if SH picks a winner?

1 Like

Top trending section is not used for winner selection - it is more of an informational section which shows who are the top rated contestants so far in the current contest.

This does not necessarily mean that one of these contestants will actually win the contest but usually there is a high correlation between top trender and the final contest winner. As an example, if someone receives a 5 star rating, they will likely feature in the top trending section.

As the contest reaches its completion, and if they are still in the top trending section, it is a strong possibility that the contest holder will pick them as the winner. However, there are many instances where this does not happen - because the CH might end up picking a name which was submitted closer to the end of contest and they might not have rated it yet, which means it was never featured in top trending section. Hope I didn’t confuse you more :smile: