Taxes on winnings

Hi All, I was curious about being taxed on your winnings come Tax Day. I’d like a little insight from SH creatives that have been on here a year +. Any information would be helpful. TY!

@CRen, SH will send you a 1099 to sub with your taxes.
I am an independent contractor in my “regular” life so I just loop it in with the quarterly taxes I have to pay on all my other work. In other words, I pay the taxes on SH quarterly based on my estimated tax rate (which I figure out every year). Then I get the 1099 (like I get from my clients, too) and tell my accountant what I paid in quarterlies. Then, the accountant does my taxes and tells me if I overpaid or if I am short.

If you are not an independent contractor, you may be able to wait until tax time. But you really should talk to a tax expert about how you should manage it. If you are winning a lot, it could be a lot of money to pay at tax time. So at minimum, you should set aside what you think might be your tax liability each month so you have it come April.

1 Like

@Commulinks thanks so much for the quick reply! Is there a rough % that you set aside quarterly based on your earnings? Also, what kind of “expenses” do you claim for write-offs? Trying to keep as much $ as possible in the end :wink: I mean hey, we earned it!

The % you would set aside would be based on your own income tax rate which takes you and potentially your spouse into consideration. Because I am a 100% independent contractor, I also have to pay a high other %age for something called self employment tax (basically, that is social security) on a portion of my earnings. (I think that is 21%). The IRS has a lot of info on their site about this.